RSS Winter Writing Fest 2016 Update #3: What I’m doing about that tricky thing called Muse.

RSS Winter Writing Festival 2016

UPDATE #3

I say this about the Update Days, but the weeks are flying by.

I can’t believe I started the Winter Writing Fest three weeks ago — while everyone else who originally signed up started almost four weeks ago!

Hosted by the Ruby Slippered Sisterhood, the Writing Festival 2016 is a great gap-filler for those of you who are NaNo-die hards, those of you who want to kick off the start of the year on the right writing foot, and everyone else really! What I love about the festival is the encouragement to set goals and take accountability for them.

If I’ve interested you, join in on the fun. It’s the halfway mark of the Festival now, but there’s always time to set goals and get to work on them.

My goals for this 50-day Fest is to ONE, write daily on whatever project I’ve got going, and TWO, write at least 250/day or 15 minutes, whatever gets me about that a single page of forward movement first.

I can report that this has been going really well. It’s not to say that it isn’t always hard. Right now my word count commitments actually require me to write almost 10x the 250-goal (which usually has me working 5-6 hours + procrastination). Sometimes the Muse doesn’t want to be tempted by chocolates, scented bath and foot rub, s/he just wants to frolic and tease me, and that’s cool because I don’t really have the time to sit around and wait for the “right” mood to write.

3a759aba2eba292a0ada279c1f2d205f
This guy knows what I’m talking about.

So write on, and don’t wait for the bratty Muse to decide when you’ll be creative.

BICHOK, fellow writers, BICHOK.

Also why I’m keeping this post short! I need to take my own advice and get back to it.

Until then.

Marna

RSS Winter Writing Fest update closing marker

Leave a Reply

