One step at a time… (Big Dreams Blog Update #30)

Update Day!

e26cb-doyouhavegoalsbutton

Another month, and update on the goings-on of the last four weeks.

What is Update Day? I’m 1/16th of a group of crazy people who have chosen to publicly brave the interwebs with our big (you guessed it: crazy) goals. Hosted by authors Misha Gericke and Beth Fred, every last Friday of the month we gather round and share our progress on said big, crazy goals. Interested in joining the Do You Have Goals blog hop? Sign up by clicking the banner above or HERE. The more, the merrier.

Wellllll, this was a bit of a hard month compared to the latter half of January and February. It felt too much like the first week of January when the whole year was staring me in the face and I had no clue

Here are the goals I had this month in listing fashion because I like me my lists:

☀ read 19-20 books

☀ get all my A-Z posts prepped for April

☀ complete Riding High, a short story of ~2K

☀ write ~20K for current project, Home Sweet Cocoa

As of today, I have three out of four of these goals completed. I read 23 books, I got my A-Z posts ready to go and I completed my short story, Riding High.

I’m still working on the last goal, and I’m sitting at ~11K right now. With 6 more days to go, and my schedule as of late, I should be able to reach that realistic goal. I just have to keep pushing back against the doubt and fear of ‘writing a crappy first draft’.

Now that it’s officially spring (happy belated vernal equinox!) I’m ready to spread my wings and shed off the winter blues. I know what I’m meant to be doing, and that’s writing. So I have to keep at it!

Pep talk sorta over…

My goals for April include:

☀ visiting 5 blogs/Monday-Friday

☀ read 30 books

☀ finish the first draft of my MG novella (novel?) WIP

☀ finish the first draft of HSC, my novella WIP

That’s it! Simple enough, way harder than it seems when you’re taking it a day at a time. I wake up some mornings and I don’t want to write. At all. I don’t want to face my characters or story. That’s cool, but it won’t get a book finished. And I want my books finished so I can edit and revise and get them out there to agents and/or editors.

Which is why I need to keep reminding myself that’s every journey starts with a step and that I don’t have to sprint but get in shape for a marathon (insert more motivational speech here).

Seriously though, sit back a bit, take a break from B.I.C.H.O.K. and listen to a song I’m sure you can relate to. I know I’ve been replaying it over a lot this month! Good thing I like the song…

 

2 thoughts on “One step at a time… (Big Dreams Blog Update #30)

Leave a Reply

