“The Right to Write” Day #8-14

So for the next two months I’m going to be doing weekly, short blogs covering the 43 chapters of Julia Cameron’s The Right to Write, self-help/work guide on how to be work on yourself to work on the writer in you.

I’ll be joining YT vlogger and fellow writer/author, Burgess Taylor on her journey going through Ms. Cameron’s book as a group. She kicked this off so please stop by and check out her website/blog and YT vids!

If you want to join in too, pick up a physical copy or ebook version of The Right to Write: An Invitation and Initiation into the Writing Life Amazon (US) or at B&N or if you’re Canadian *waves to fellow Canucks* here at Indigo/Chapters…or your local library or any other place else you prefer.

As part of this series of blog posts I’ll be sharing snippets from my assignments. Why? Because I’m in the sharing mood, and I hope they’re enough to help another struggling writer out.

On wards then to Chapters 8 through to 14.

*

For this week’s worth of chapters, Ms. Cameron touched on mooddrama (llamas) and much more about creativity blocks and tips and tricks that work for her on replenishing what she calls the “well” of inspiration.

Once again I tailored some of these exercises.

There was one that asks you to write out the names of three “creative monsters” in your life, and then privately write out the names of three other people (or it can be the three creative monsters) who you’d like to show up (you know, once you reach your goal and all).

Since I don’t share my writing all that much, I don’t have ‘monsters’ in my life so I named the three first ‘monsters’ that came to mind, and here they are (sharing them publicly).

Okay, here goes. My three “creative monsters”:

1. Me

2. Myself

3. I

Ditto for who I’d like to shower my successes all over. I also I’m sharing my statement of affirmation (worded by Ms. Julia Cameron) for the interwebs. AHEM!

I, Marna Reed, am able to achieve success despite my creative monsters’ opinions.

I, Marna Reed, am able to release me, myself, and I to their destiny. I am able to successfully claim my own.

I, Marna Reed, am able to use my anger by focusing it to write my way clear of rage, frustration, and negativity.

 So that kinda downer of an exercise aside, I also was hesitant to pick up one exercise asking to list out 100 things I loved about myself and another similar one for this week asking to list out 50 things I’m proud about – right now I’m done neither exercise. I’m sitting at about 80-something with the 100 things I love about myself, and 20-something with the things I’m proud about, which says a lot in a way.

I’ll slowly plug away at the exercise because…c’mon, I never gave it a thought. If someone asked me what I loved/liked, I’d list a couple things. I wasn’t whipping out a 100 items and snapping them off like a madwoman.

Anyways, I’m going to assume Ms. Cameron poised the exercise to allow you to start to THINK about how you think about yourself, if that makes any sense. I should make a note here that I’m super tired and still travel weary. Blame the jet lag if I come across a little incoherent.

But just for you I’ll share some of the stuff I listed from both lists. Sharing = caring, and I’m trying to learn to open up a bit.

15 Things I Love: summer thunderstorms, cinnamon rolls, the smell of popcorn, the sound of rain, fairy tales, cozy mysteries, long drives, long/slow walks, kdramas, telenovelas, blue skies, chicken soup, white & rose gold, autumn colors, frankenincense/unsi

10 Things I’m Proud Of: my story ideas, my uni degree, my growing patience, my bravery to come to visit my African home, my dimple!, my growing appreciation of my body, being bi-cultural, baking attempts & sharing them on my blog last year, blogging for (almost!) 3 years now, my dance moves (ahem, in the privacy of my room)

On that note, I’m going to wrap up this hastily typed post (I’ve got a little less than an hour before Sunday comes to a close here!) – for those of you struggling with framing your life and your experiences and your creativity (be that writing or otherwise), keep your chin up, your shoulders from sagging and your spine as straight as can be.

These last few chapters really take you into delving into your deep-seated thoughts. You’ll start to sort out the superficiality of how you think on the surface to unearthing some real, raw emotions. Prepare to be awed if you’re taking this journey along with me and the other bloggers/vloggers out there. Shout out to you all BTW. I’ll get to names eventually, once I settle down into a routine where I’m at now.

Until next week.

5 thoughts on ““The Right to Write” Day #8-14

  1. Marna my dear, try to sleep a little 😛
    I’m learning a ton during this journey with Burgess Taylor, you and the other lovely people that are following this book.
    It’s hard to think of good things to say about ourselves, right? I found that exercise a little complicated because I’m not used to see myself in a good light.
    This book is a journey that I’m really glad I’m embark on.
    By the way. I want to see pictures of your trip, pretty please 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I believe they do. It’s been easier to shut down my Internal Editor with every novel I finish. I catch onto my negative thoughts quicker because they’re like a broken record by now repeating the same garbage over and over again.

      Like

  2. This book is actually the one that got me into the headspace to finish my first ever story, so I’m very fond of it. 🙂

    Good exercises. And when I’m stressing a lot, I still find that morning pages help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

