“The Right to Write” HIATUS

Unfortunately I’m not here with another update on Julia Cameron’s The Right to Write. As you’ve already guessed by the title, I’m going on a hiatus with the reading of Ms. Cameron’s book and the blog updates.

Why am I signing off for now?

I’ve been biting off more than I can chew, and it’s like Ms. Cameron says in her book – and I’m paraphrasing – about nurturing frustration in the absence of active writing. It’s been more than a month since I finished my last WIP and consecutively wrote on a day-to-day basis.

I’d love to come back to that. I was in such a happy place even if sometimes it took a lot of self-coaxing to get my Butt in the Chair for the day’s writing.

So, in order to do that, I’m clearing off my schedule for writing mostly (and a bit of reading). I’ve also not been taking The Right to Write as seriously this week and that raised an internal alarm. I want to be able to soak the book up and give the reading (and the exercises) my undivided attention. To do that, I need to find my inner writing calm.

What’s more it doesn’t help that I’m abroad. Since I don’t travel much (and the last time I traveled internationally was a decade and a half ago) I’ve been finding it really hard to stick to a schedule. I’m a natural procrastinator so that side of me has been on field day after field day with the switch in time zone, location, weather, diet, culture, etc.

Long story short, I’d like to pick this up again in August (if possible!)

I feel like I’ll be in a better head space then. *crossing my fingers and toes*

Leave a Reply

