Doable. (Big Dreams Blog Update #34)

Another month, another update.

e26cb-doyouhavegoalsbutton

For those of you who have no clue what I’m talking about, every month I update on my writing/reading-related goals (sometimes I toss in another goals, too–yay, spontaneity!). I’m 1/18th of the DO YOU HAVE GOALS? blog hop, a.k.a. Big Dreams Bloggity Bloghop, hosted by authors Misha Gericke and Beth Fred.

So all you need to join is have yourself a big dream ready (crazy is welcome) and the willingness to share it and be ridiculed if you fail to slowly reach your goal (I’m totally kidding about the last part). Sign up HERE and join in the monthly, daily, hourly struggle–err, I mean fun. It’s SO much fun, guy. πŸ™‚

So myΒ goals for July were:

β˜€ submit the short story for the summer-themed Wattpad anthology

β˜€ submit revised Christmas novella to publisher (hopefully for good!)

β˜€ decide between an MG story or a PNR to write for July’s Camp NaNo

β˜€ write and submit an entry for the #Wattys2016 on Wattpad

β˜€ stay on top of #HotAndSticky

β˜€ read 6 Harlequin Romance titles languishing on my Kindle ATM

Now, I’m thinking: DUDE, was I crazy when I made this list? I mean, look at it.

Read 6 books, write all the things. Yeah, no.

Didn’t happen. I just, I don’t know what I did. Actually, that’s a lie. I did do some things.

Here’s what I can scratch off from July:

β˜€ submit the short story for the summer-themed Wattpad anthology

β˜€ submit revised Christmas novella to publisher (hopefully for good!)

β˜€ decide between an MG story or a PNR to write for July’s Camp NaNo

β˜€ write and submit an entry for the #Wattys2016 on Wattpad

β˜€ stay on top of #HotAndSticky

β˜€ read 6 Harlequin Romance titles languishing on my Kindle ATM

So not, much, but enough that makes me go…okay, you got this girl.

I didn’t get around to writing either my MG or PNR for July Camp NaNo. My goal was 25K for the month, and I think I might be able to hit that…or fall shy of it by a few thousand words. We’ll see!

I didn’t get around to reading much. Only one cozy mystery, and I’m in the middle of a crime non-fiction title right now.

And I won’t be entering the #Wattys2016 over at Wattpad. Don’t have a story I want to enter.

Overall, not too bad. 2 out of 6 goals…I can live with that.

But I still gotta step up my game.

*

My goals for August are:

β˜€ submit a short story to a Halloween-themed Wattpad anthology (cuz I got the short story bug)

β˜€ complete first draft and submit proposal for potential idea to the small publisher of my Christmas-themed novella

β˜€ continue on with the #HotAndSticky challenge

β˜€ participate in theΒ Bout of Books 17 challenge (GOAL: read 1 book/day for a week)

β˜€ submit chapter proposal to Harlequin’s #Oooh…Canada! Blitz

*

They look doable, so let’s see if I can do them.

Until next update then. Stay cool, friends.

11 thoughts on “Doable. (Big Dreams Blog Update #34)

  1. Wow! I create huge goals like that, and I’m impressed by how much you’ve acheived. Way to go with you writing and reading!
    I think your goals for August look good, as long as you’re not me – I’m an August “vacation” mode kind of person. Even if I don’t go anywhere, my brain takes off in August.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tyrean! It’s one step at a time. Small goals bundle up into bigger goals.

      Haha! My brain shuts off around December-January. It’s the holidays and all those yummy treats and cheesy Christmas movies. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Ambitious goals, so not surprising you didn’t achieve all of them. Good luck with August. Did I read that right? You’re going to read one book a day for a week? Wow. And fit in some writing too? Sounds like you’re going to be busy, busy, busy πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’ll see how I do, but I wanted to try this for a while. There’s a lot of reading challenges out there and each time I pass on them. This time I prepared in advance. I’ve also learned to take it easy on myself if I fall short of that goal. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

