Happy Belated 3rd Blogiversary to Me ♪♫ ♪♫ (Big Dreams Blog Update #35)

Guys/gals, I almost forgot to post my Update Day post. It’s like how I forgot my 3rd year anniversary on August 14th. I’ve been blogging for 3 years!

Image result for 3rd anniversary
Yes. Got to remember to keep my head on…but I forgot my 3rd anniversary!?!

3 years! How could I forget that? Man, this has been one cloudy month for me, memory-wise. I’ve got fog oozing out of my ears. I’ve become a Netflix zombie, that’s the problem. All that TV, all that marathoning before Fall TV returns.

32626-doyouhavegoalsbutton

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, I’m part of a blog hop called the Big Dreams Blog Hop/Do You Have a Goal? bloggity hop hop. I’m lying about that last part, but the rest of it’s true! There are 18 of us, include author hosts Misha Gericke and Beth Fred (pop over and say hello–they’re awesome, I promise!) and we’d love for you to join. Sign up HERE by sharing one big crazy goal and then every last Friday of the month let us know how you fared. Did you fall behind this month, or are you charging towards your goal? We’ll cheer you on or pass the virtual chocolate to numb the momentary tumble. We got you!

Okay, since it’s late and almost Saturday 27th here, I’ve got to quickly update you all, because aren’t you my captive audience? You all want to know what happened to me this month, right? Yeah…I know you do.

Image result for hypnotized audience

So, back in July I set these goals for August:

☀ submit a short story to a Halloween-themed Wattpad anthology (cuz I got the short story bug)

☀ complete first draft and submit proposal for potential idea to the small publisher of my Christmas-themed novella

☀ continue on with the #HotAndSticky challenge

☀ participate in the Bout of Books 17 challenge (GOAL: read 1 book/day for a week)

☀ submit chapter proposal to Harlequin’s #Oooh…Canada! Blitz

That still looks like a lot, but doable…

Here’s how I did, and SPOILER alert–it’s not too bad if I do say so myself:

☀ submit a short story to a Halloween-themed Wattpad anthology (cuz I got the short story bug)

☀ complete first draft and submit proposal for potential idea to the small publisher of my Christmas-themed novella

☀ continue on with the #HotAndSticky challenge

☀ participate in the Bout of Books 17 challenge (GOAL: read 1 book/day for a week)

☀ submit chapter proposal to Harlequin’s #Oooh…Canada! Blitz

I submitted my first chapter & synopsis proposal to Harlequin’s #Ooooh…Canada! opportunity. If you’re interested in writing category romance for the big romance publisher, check out deets HERE.

I also submitted not one but TWO proposals to the small publisher who got my debut novella, Home Sweet Cocoa out there to the world. More on those two novellas later.

I’m in the middle of participating in the Bout of Books 17. My first reading challenge, and I don’t want to spoil anything but I’ll have a wrap-up of my week of reading up on the blog Monday. Stay tuned!

Now I didn’t scratch out the first one because I haven’t finished writing my Halloween short. You know I’ve been so used to writing romance, writing outside the genre is hard. My writing muscles need exercise. Luckily, I can write anything from paranormal to mystery or sci-fi (not that I like sci-fi so much, mad appreciation to those who write it though). I have to send that off on Sept 1st, so wish me luck. So far, I’ve got no clue what I’m writing.

And as I’m still in the 3/4 of the #HotAndSticky, it didn’t seem right to scratch it off as if I’m done with it. Nope. Still another 37 days to go once today’s done. Yippee! Time for me to go and finish off writing that 60K goal. Not that the word count is the real goal, it’s just gonna be awesome when I can type/share that I’ve reached it and all. 🙂

Now, quick things, my goals for September are:

☀ submit that Halloween-themed short story to the Wattpad anthology by September 1st

☀ complete first draft of Wallflower Inn, my 2nd novella (like I said, more on this later)

☀ read 4 books, aim for 1 book/every week

☀ continue on with the #HotAndSticky challenge

There we have it. Again, totally doable as long as I take day-by-day and lessen the load. Until next Update Day then. Ta-ta!

8 thoughts on “Happy Belated 3rd Blogiversary to Me ♪♫ ♪♫ (Big Dreams Blog Update #35)

  1. Congrats on all the goals you accomplished for this month! It always feels good once something you’ve been working on it officially completed. That’s how I felt when I completed my novel, haha.

    Writing different genres is always fun! I enjoy adventuring different genres, but I must admit my favorite to write is YA paranormal.

    Good luck to you for September’s goals! I don’t have any specific goals to complete for next month, but I will be sure to update everyone on that last Friday.

    Nice blog, btw! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I started out with plans to write like a dozen YA paranormals way back in 2009, but I have yet to finish one. Lol. I ended up writing a lot of adult romances instead. I still have a soft spot of paranormals, YA and adult. I love my vamps and shifters and mermaids, ghouls and ghosts and Greek gods, mhmmm…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

