Read, write, life, repeat. (Big Dreams Blog Update #37)

32626-doyouhavegoalsbutton

These Update Days come around so fast I’m getting whiplash. I’m all “Wait, what?! Why is my calendar circled for the 28th?!” Yeah, right. It has nothing to do with an awesome Halloween party this Friday night. Nope. I’ll be spending that indoors, sadly. But with cupcakes hopefully. Yum! πŸ˜›

Anyways. For those of you who are like, what is this crazy girl going on about? I’m going to get crazier on you. There’s this blog hop we call Do You Have Goals? where 18 of us bloggers out there have publicly announced are (sometimes crazy) goals. You’ll have to thank hosties Misha Gericke and Beth Fred for their crazy monster. Also stop by their blogs and cheer them on their (very, IMHO) goals. πŸ™‚

My goal is to reach 1 million words worth of completed writing projects in the five years (2013-2018) of the blog hop. If you can do a bit of Math, that’s a little less than 2 years we have left until the blog hop is finish.

I have no clue where I am at this point, but I’ll do a tally and then the live link will go up HERE. Until then, I think I’m in the 1/3 range (~300-400K).

So because it’s not enough to post your goals and stride away whistling. We’re also keeping track of our little goals towards our big goal, every last Friday of the month to be precise. Now here I am with October’s Update Post. How did I fare in terms of my goals? Stick around, because you’ll need a remainder of what those goals were. I sure did.

October 2016 goals:

β˜€ complete revision for Wallflower Inn and send off to professional editor

β˜€ read 4 books, aim for 1 book/every week

β˜€ catch up with my art journal (I fell behind, boo hoo)

Okay! How did I do?

Well, for the first goal there–I’m sad to say that I’ve parted ways with my publisher. Not my choice. It was a small publisher and the decision was a personal one. I was forwarded to another small publisher, but I decided I wasn’t ready to take that path. So I not only pulled my contract for Wallflower Inn, but I also pulled my Christmas novella, Home Sweet Cocoa. I’m hoping to self-publish both in the future, but I don’t have a date right now. For the time being I’m chasing other stories, and the traditional publishing route. As for the revision for Wallflower Inn, I got 1/4 of the way of it done. I’m hoping to go back and finish it. I do love the story and the characters, so it’s not a teeth-grinding task.

For my 4 books, I can say I accomplished this with children’s books. I’m talking early readers and lower middle grade titles. πŸ™‚ What can I say? The child in me was bouncing for some good reads and I shut her up real good, the best way I could. Lol. BTW, I did reach my 52 books/year goal I believe. So at this point I’m just adding on because, hello, I’m not going to stop reading becuz I reached that goal with 9 weeks to spare. Arbitrary goal, guys.

Lastly, my art journal. I didn’t catch up, so I haven’t reached this goal yet. I’m still 5 weeks behind. I’m going to keep at it. That’s why it returns in my list of November goals. So I’m doing some adjustments, but my main goals remain the same–read, write, life, repeat.

November 2016 goals:

β˜€ catch up with my art journal (I’m still behind, boo hoo!)

β˜€ continue to read 4 books; aiming for 1 book/every week

β˜€ (hopefully) complete the 1st draft of current WIP, a YA title (my first, peeps!)

And on that note…

HAPPY Hallowe’en/Samhain to all who like to beg for chocolate and to those who are stuck inside but treat themselves to unhealthy treats. And for those honoring nature and its wonderfully complicated, wondrously wonderful cycles.

Cheers to us all. πŸ™‚

Image result for cheers halloween
Listen to the flying lady on the broom. Follow her.
5 thoughts on “Read, write, life, repeat. (Big Dreams Blog Update #37)

  1. Yes, sorry about the publisher. I’m still trying to find one for my fiction novel. Well, actually, I’m trying to find an agent first… so seriously considering the self publishing route too. (My non-fiction book is self-published and has been doing well!) Good luck for you goals for November. Glad to see you are getting some reading done too.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your publisher, but from what I can see, I think you might have made the right choice. All the best with your goals for November!

    By the way, there’s no deadline on my bloghop. In fact, I started at year one last month, when I realized I wouldn’t meet my original deadline. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

