RSS Winter Writing Fest 2017 Update #6: Keeping on!

RSS Winter Writing Festival 2017

UPDATE #6

hello

Oops! I’m late with this post, but better late than never I suppose.

I’m mostly late because I haven’t done much since my last update. I’ve been afraid to write. I have these lengthy periods where I can’t bring myself to do much more than plot and dream up scenes and dialogue, but I can’t get the words flowing–and it has nothing to do with being stuck in the plotting, and everything to do with fear of failure. Fear of confronting the words on the page and then judging right out of the gate. NOT a conducive way to do anything by the way.

And, yeah, I’m talking myself through it. What I’m going to have to do is take it a day at a time, a sentence at a time, until I get that confidence back. The confidence is in the actual writing. I have to write to start to feel like I’ve got a grip on my creations.

In the meanwhile, what could you do if you’re afraid or you find you’re not writing as much as you’d like and you’re trying to re-wire your fearful thinking?

1. Do what you enjoy.

Easy enough. I’ve said this a lot in my blog whenever I write these kind of posts. I find baking, watching TV, reading, window shopping (yeah, I know, retail therapy at its best) and even cleaning and re-organizing to be great ways to trick my mind into wanting to write. By the time I’ve taken a long break, I feel like I return to the page like a starved Sylvester.

Image result for sylvester cat looking at tweety gif

2. Do have a notebook near.

I use the Notes in my phone because it’s easier at night to jot down an idea if one strikes. Doesn’t mean I’ll ever revisit the idea, but I usually judge that when I’m more awake… Yes, sometimes bursts of inspiration that feel amazing at 3am are not like so when I’m wide awake and I’ve gotten my daily dose of caffeine.

Image result for what was i thinking gif

3. Do some other writing.

I don’t journal much, but I tried it last year and I’d recommend it. It takes away the stress of having to show anyone your work. And that’s where fan fiction could come along as well. Everyone has a fandom they enjoy, so find yours and write a short story, or a series of one shots if you’re not willing to dedicate a whole lot of time to a longer derivative work.

My problem with writing is that I worry to get it perfect even though I realize I’ll have to edit it because it’s still a first draft. If you’re like me, then you just need to take a step back, breathe, re-group, and get to doing what you’re passionate about and don’t worry 100% where you’ll land; there’s always room for growth at the end too.

Image result for wizard of oz gif

And next update is the final one for this year’s RSS Winter Writing Festival. I’m sad to see it end, but it’s also nearly the end of winter, and spring brings more growth…and much-needed sunshine.

See you then! And keep keeping on!

Leave a Reply

